Tuesday, April 23, 2019

George C. Wolfe to receive SDC Director Award at the Chita Rivera Awards on May 19 at NYU

George C. Wolfe

Presented by the NYC Dance Alliance Foundation, Inc.

on May 19 at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts

Legendary Broadway director and four time Tony® Award Winner George C. Wolfe (Angels In America, The Normal Heart, Bring in 'Da Noise..., Jelly's Last Jam)will receive the SDC Director Award for exemplary collaboration with choreographers on Broadway at the 2019 Chita Rivera Awards (www.ChitaRiveraAwards.com),taking place at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts (566 LaGuardia Place, off Washington Square Park) on Sunday, May 19 at 7:30pm. Joe Lanteri, Founder and Executive Director of the New York City Dance Alliance Foundation (www.NYCDAFoundation.net) produces the Chita Rivera Awards in conjunction with Patricia Watt.

The SDC Director Award is presented annually to a director for their exemplary collaboration with choreographers on Broadway. Mr. Wolfe was selected by an SDC committee of choreographers and will be presented the award by choreographer Camille A. Brown (Once On This Island, Choir Boy, Magic Mike: The Musical).

Stage Directors and Choreographers Society (SDC) is the theatrical union that unites, empowers, and protects professional stage directors and choreographers throughout the United States. Its mission is to foster a national community by protecting the rights, health, and livelihoods of all of its Members; facilitating the exchange of ideas, information, and opportunities, while educating the current and future generations about the role of directors and choreographers; and providing effective administrative, negotiating, and contractual support. 2019 marks the Union's 60th Anniversary. sdcweb.org
As previously announced, the Chita Rivera Awards will be hosted by Ann Reinking and Ben Vereen, dancer, choreographer and theater director Graciela Daniele will receive the third annual Lifetime Achievement Award, and Flody Suarez, Jeffrey Seller, and Cher (producers of The Cher Show on Broadway) will be honored with the Ambassador for the Arts Award honoring their contribution to the convergence of theater, film, and television.
Tickets for the Chita Rivera Awards are currently on sale and can be purchased at www.ChitaRiveraAwards.com or by calling 1-855-NYC-5678. Ticket prices are as follows: $100 for a balcony ticket to the Awards ceremony, $300 for a par-terre ticket to the Awards ceremony, $500 for an orchestra ticket to the Awards ceremony and admission to the pre-show red carpet cocktail party and VIP reception, and $5000 for 10 Orchestra tickets to the Awards ceremony, admission for 10 to the pre-show red carpet cocktail party & 1 table at the VIP reception.
The nominations for the Chita Rivera Awards will be announced on Friday, April 26 and the nominee reception will be on Monday, April 29.
Carrying the name of one of the great dance icons of the American musical theater, the Chita Rivera Awards celebrate dance and choreographic excellence past, present and future. The mission of the awards is to honor the superb achievements of the nominees, and also to recognize the talent and passion of all theatrical choreographers and dancers. Additionally, through education and scholarships, the awards nurture future generations and preserve notable dance history.
Nominators consider outstanding choreography, featured dancers and ensembles in Broadway and Off Broadway shows, as well as outstanding choreography in film during the theatrical season. The Off Broadway and Film committees make nominations and name winners in those categories. Broadway nominees are designated by the Broadway nominating committee and winners selected by the Broadway awarding committee.
*   *   *

Tickets to the 
Chita Rivera Awards are available to the general public at 
GEORGE C. WOLFE (Director/Award Recipient)
Theatre directing credits include The Iceman Cometh, Shuffle Along, or, the Making of the Musical Sensation of 1921 and All That Followed (NY Drama Critics' Circle Award and Drama Desk Award for Best Musical); Lucky Guy; The Normal Heart (Drama Desk); Jelly's Last Jam (Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle Award); Angels In America: Millennium Approaches (Tony Award and Drama Desk) and Perestroika (Drama Desk); Bring in 'da Noise, Bring in 'da Funk (Tony and Drama League Award); Topdog/Underdog (Obie Award); Twilight: Los Angeles 1992 (Drama Desk); Elaine Stritch At Liberty (Tony for Special Theatrical Event); The Tempest; The Wild Party; Caroline, or Change (Olivier Award Best Musical); and A Free Man of Color. From 1993-2005, Wolfe was the Producer of The Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival. He is the writer of the award-winning The Colored Museum, Shuffle Along, directed/adapted Spunk (Obie), and created Harlem Song for the Apollo Theatre. Wolfe directed and co-wrote the HBO film "The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks", as well as "Lackawanna Blues", for which he earned The Directors Guild Award, a National Board of Review Award, a Christopher Award, and the Humanitas Prize. He is the Chief Creative Officer of the Center for Civil and Human Rights, and from 2009-2017 served on The President's Committee for the Arts and The Humanities. Additional awards include the Actors Equity Paul Roberson Award, Society of Directors and Choreographers' Mr. Abbott and Calloway Awards, The Dramatist Guild's Hull-Warner Award, The New Dramatist Outstanding Career Achievement Award, The NAACP Lifetime Achievement Award, The Lambda Liberty Award, The Spirit of the City Award, The Brendan Gil Prize, The Distinguished Alumni Award from NYU, a Princess Grace Award, and The Monte Cristo Award. Wolfe was named a Library Lion by the New York Public Library and a living landmark by the New York Landmark's Conservancy.

No comments: