Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Xavier University of Louisiana President Honored as Longest-Sitting College President

[Dr. Norman Francis]

NAFEO and AT&T honor Dr. Francis with creation of new student scholarships 

NEW ORLEANS (April 17, 2012) – Xavier University of Louisiana (XULA) President Dr. Norman C. Francis was honored by the National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO) for his commitment to minority education and service to the community during the organization’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C.. The AT&T-NAFEO Francis Fellows Award, a new need-based, exemplary achievement, student grant has been created in his name.

Dr. Francis has served as President of XULA for 44 years, making him the longest-sitting college president in the United States. NAFEO announced the inaugural Francis Fellows awards, which consists of two $5,000 awards that will go to two Xavier students, and one $5,000 award that will go to a student from each Dillard University, Grambling University, Southern University, and Southern University New Orleans. The students, selected by the schools, are currently enrolled, full-time students in good standing, majoring in the sciences; computer sciences/technology; engineering; mathematics; physics, health professions; law; economics; teaching in a scientific field or any other discipline commonly referred to as STEM disciplines.

For outstanding achievement, the NAFEO Noble Prize was also created to honor the many distinguished faculty and researchers serving Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) or Predominately Black Institutions (PBIs). Because of their commitments to the mission of their respective institutions, the passion for their work, and their love for assisting students with great promise, the Noble Prize gives these first-rate professionals a token of the heartfelt appreciation of the entire black, higher-education community and its partners.

The NAFEO Distinguished Alumni citations were also presented to outstanding alumni of HBCUs and PBIs. Candidates are nominated by their alma mater, and those selected have distinguished themselves in their professions and communities for excellence and altruism. 

The two inaugural XULA Francis Fellows are sophomore biochemistry student Corey Arnold of Houston, TX (Cypress Falls High School) and freshman chemistry/pre-pharmacy major Cristal Wright of Zachary, LA (Baton Rouge Magnet High School). XU Division of Education Chair Dr. Rosalind Hale was selected as the Noble Prize winner; and Harry Johnson, a career attorney who served as President and C.E.O. of the Washington, D.C. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. National Memorial Project Foundation, was selected as Xavier’s Distinguished Alumni. 

No comments: