Friday, June 13, 2014

Composer Alvin Singleton's CD 'Sweet Chariot' To Be Released by Albany Records July 1, 2014; Pre-Order Available at

Sweet Chariot 
Alvin Singleton
Albany Records 
(Release Date July 1, 2014)

Composer Alvin Singleton,, has been featured on AfriClassical many times over the years. He tells us Sweet Chariot, his new CD from Albany Records,  can be pre-ordered at

Laura Gordy , Alvin Singleton , Ronald Crutcher , Ted Gurch , Peggy Benkeser , Helen Hwaya Kim , Julietta Curenton , Angel Hsiao , Harrison Hollingsworth , Lionel Cottet Audio CD          

Track Listings
1. Argoru I
2. Argoru II
3. Argoru V/a
4. Argoru VIII
5. Jasper Drag
6. Sweet Chariot
7. In My Own Skin 

Editorial ReviewsAlvin Singleton studied at New York University, Yale and the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome. He served as Composer-in-Residence with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and is the recipient of many fellowships and awards. Singleton was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2014 and recordings of his music appear on the Albany Records, ACA Digital, Elektra/Nonesuch, Telarc and Innova labels. His music is soulful, with an understated simplicity that glows with warmth and is honest and self-assured. This recording of his chamber music includes four works for solo instruments in a series titled Argoru (an African word meaning play), as well as a work for clarinet, violin and piano; a work for winds; and a work for solo piano titles In My Own Skin.              

No comments: