Wednesday, March 28, 2012

'Book the 2012 tour of Sphinx Virtuosi led by the acclaimed Catalyst Quartet, a Sphinx Ensemble!'

Don't miss the opportunity to book
the 2012 tour of Sphinx Virtuosi led by
the acclaimed Catalyst Quartet, a Sphinx Ensemble!
SVPhoto: Nan Melville

SV Video

Watch the Sphinx Virtuosi! (5:24)

Sphinx Virtuosi presents “Music of the Americas”

The Sphinx Virtuosi, featuring the Catalyst Quartet, a Sphinx Ensemble, will embark on its 5th annual national tour in Fall 2012.

Current venues on the 2012 tour include:

Bucknell University, Weis Center - Lewisburg, PA
Carnegie Hall - New York City
Harris Theater - Chicago, IL
The Kennedy Center - Washington, D.C.
Luther College - Decorah, IA
New World Center - Miami, FL
Newman Center - Denver, CO
University of Florida - Gainesville ,FL
University of Iowa - Iowa City, IA

Music of the AmericasCQ 1
will feature composers such as:
Astor Piazzolla
Alberto Ginastera
Osvaldo Golijov
Jessie Montgomery
Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson
Hector Villa-Lobos

in a dynamic program.

Photo: Nan Melville
The annual tour of the Sphinx Virtuosi is made possible
by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

For additional information on the Sphinx Organization, please visit

The Sphinx Virtuosi have received rave reviews from The New York Times's Allan Kozinn:

"All the hallmarks of a first-rate string ensemble were in place: its tone was warm and varied, it moved with unity and fluidity, and its textures were appealingly transparent."

                             Photo: Nan Melville
More than just a traditional chamber SV 2orchestra, the Sphinx Virtuosi is a conductor-less ensemble of 18 accomplished soloists of color, each a virtuoso in his or her own right. Led by the principal players of the ensemble, Sphinx Virtuosi members have attended the top music schools in the country, including the Juilliard School, Curtis Institute of Music and the New England Conservatory of Music. Several of the members hold professional orchestral positions, including the Oregon, Charlotte, and St. Louis Symphonies.

No comments: