Thursday, May 30, 2013

André Watts and Detroit Symphony Orchestra Perform on Free Live Webcast Friday, May 31 at 10:45 AM EDT

Also on DSO To Go Mobile APP for iOS or Android

Detroit Symphony Orchestra
André Watts, Pianist
The Program
Pianist extraordinaire André Watts closes the season with MacDowell's second piano concerto, and Leonard Slatkin conducts a Detroit-inspired world premiere by Missy Mazzoli and Tchaikovsky's triumphant fourth symphony.
Leonard Slatkin conductor
André Watts piano

BACH   Suite No.3 in D major, BWV 1068: Air on the G String
MISSY MAZZOLI  River Rouge Transfiguration
  (world premiere and Lebenbom Award winner*)
MACDOWELL  Piano Concerto No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY  Symphony No. 4

* Missy Mazzoli is the winner of the Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Award for Female Composers, granted annually to a living woman composer, of any age or nationality, in the spirit of recognizing and supporting the creation of new orchestral works by women. The award is inspired by the late Elaine Lebenbom, a composer, teacher, poet, artist, lecturer, and resident of Bloomfield Hills, Michigan.

No comments: