Friday, January 22, 2021

Auburn Symphony Orchestra: Dr. William Chapman Nyaho is Pianist in Brahms Piano Quintet Streaming February 18, 7:30 PM PT

Dr. William Chapman Nyaho

Auburn Symphony Orchestra

Auburn, Washington

Listen from home:

Creatively Connected: Brahms Piano Quintet

This work unfolds over four movements and offers a little something for every type of listener. In the opening movement there is angst and tension yet also vivacity and spirit. In the slower second movement one is serenaded with majestic melodies and a soothing musical atmosphere. The third movement pulses with restless rhythms and the finale brings the work to an exalted conclusion. This is 19th century chamber music at its zenith.

Emilie Choi and Sol Im, violins
Betty Agent, viola
Brian Wharton, cello
William Chapman Nyaho, piano

Piano Quintet in F minor, op. 34 - Composed by Johannes Brahms
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Andate, un poco adagio
III. Scherzo: Allegro
IV. Finale: Poco sostenuto - Allegro non troppo

No comments: