Friday, July 9, 2021 Boston Landmarks Orchestra Summer Series: Jessie Montgomery, Nkeiru Okoye, William Grant Still, Florence Price, Duke Ellington

Nkeiru Okoye

Jessie Montgomery

Stephanie Jones, Community Contributor

Fri., July 9, 2021

Boston Landmarks Orchestra under the direction of Music Director Christopher Wilkins celebrates its 20th anniversary season with the return of live orchestral music to the iconic DCR Hatch Memorial Shell on the Esplanade this summer—the first live and free professional symphony concerts in Boston since the pandemic began. Landmarks Orchestra is thrilled to present a six-week summer concert series which showcases a diversity of music and cultures both at the Hatch Shell and in Boston neighborhoods.

Programming this summer celebrates the authentic musical and community partnerships Landmarks Orchestra has built over its 20-year history. Rooted in uniquely American music, audiences will hear works by composers such as Jessie Montgomery, George Gershwin, John Philip Sousa, Nkeiru Okoye, Aaron Copland, William Grant Still, Florence Price, Omar Thomas, J. Rosamond Johnson, Duke Ellington, and more. 

No comments: