Sunday, December 20, 2020 CSO Sessions Episode 8, Now through Jan. 1, includes George Walker's "Lyric for Strings" and works of Tower, Milhaud and Tchaikovsky

George Walker (1922-2018)


Chicago Symphony Orchestra

CSO musicians present a feast of music for chamber orchestra, opening with Joan Tower’s first Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman, written for large brass ensemble and percussion and dedicated to conductor Marin Alsop. George Walker’s serene Lyric for Strings and Darius Milhaud’s musical homage to his homeland in the south of France round out a program that culminates in Tchaikovsky’s enchanting Serenade for Strings.

Premiered on Thursday, December 3, 2020
Available through Friday, January 1, 2021

If you have already purchased access to this episode, go to My CSOtv Account to watch. To explore additional free and premium content, check the CSOtv Guide lineup.


Tower Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman, No. 1
Walker Lyric for Strings
Milhaud The Chimney of King René
Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings


Musicians of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra


No comments: