Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Art of Élan: An exciting lineup of commissioned works and world premieres for our 10th Anniversary Season, which we're calling "A Place to Call Home"

We're thrilled to announce an exciting lineup of commissioned works and world premieres for our 10th Anniversary Season, which we're calling "A Place to Call Home," as we're focusing on creative place-making and defining home in the 21st century.

With numerous collaborations and cross-disciplinary productions that include an expanded five-concert series at  The San Diego Museum of Art (next concert on November 22), two CROSSFIRE concerts (next concert on November 29), an encore collaboration with Malashock Dance and a return to Copley Symphony Hall, among other exciting projects, the 10th anniversary celebrates the reach of Art of Élan's programming and engagement efforts as well as its ongoing desire to connect people from all over the globe through music. 

As part of our mission to keep classical music exciting and relevant, Art of Élan has made a commitment since inception to commission at least one new work a year. As a result, numerous relationships have developed with both emerging and established composers. We're proud to introduce new works to the San Diego community and hope you'll join us in welcoming these artists and their work throughout the season:

November 29, 2016 at The Glashaus for AJ Nilles' "Beat Suite"

January 10, 2017 at Copley Symphony Hall for a new work by Hannah Lash for solo harp

January 31, 2017 at the San Diego Museum of Art for a new work by LJOVA

April 6, 2017 at Luce Loft for new works byJoel P. West

June 1-3, 2017 at the Lyceum Theater for a new work by Judd Greenstein, in collaboration with Malashock Dance

June 17, 2017 at Qualcomm Hall for a new work by Avner Dorman 

June 2017 new work by Lei Liang for the Myriad Trio

As always, we thank you for your ongoing interest and support and we look forward to seeing you at a concert soon!
~Kate & Demarre

Mark your calendars for the remaining concert dates at the San Diego Museum of Art:

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 | 7:00 p.m. | Gallery 16

This special Thanksgiving concert focuses on place and origins, and is linked to the exhibition Louis Kahn: The Power of Architecture, which opened at The San Diego Museum of Art on November 5th. Featuring "Light Screens" by Andrew Norman (inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright's stained glass window designs by the same name), the "Garden of Adonis" for flute and harp by Alan Hovhaness, Arthur Foote's "At Dusk," and a return of the haunting string quartet work "Credo" by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Kevin Puts, this program examines the links between the architectural and musical worlds, illuminating how both can expressively communicate with humanity.
Tuesday, January, 31, 2017 | 7:00 p.m. | Gallery 16

How do we listen to the world we live in? How do we react to what we hear? This concert explores the act of listening and its role in defining a sense of home, featuring the world premiere of a work commissioned by New York composer LJOVA, whose beloved "Vjola Suite" will also be given a reprise on this program, in addition to the Bax Oboe Quintet and the San Diego premiere of Missy Mazzoli's "Dissolve, O My Heart" for solo violin.
Tuesday, March 14, 2017 | 7:00 p.m. | Gallery 16

This program, featuring works by John Cage and Nico Muhly, as well as David Bruce's quirky "Steampunk" and the West Coast premiere of Caroline Shaw's "Ritornello for strings" showcases the diverse sounds that we encounter in the 21st century and explores how they interact with each other, as well as how they inform our perceptions of what music really is. 

Tuesday, May 9, 2017 | 7:00 p.m. | James S. Copley Auditorium

FREE community concert in partnership with NOW Ensemble

The San Diego Museum of Art series wraps up with a special interactive concert that features the New York-based NOW Ensemble, a dynamic group of performers and composers dedicated to making new chamber music for the 21st century. With a unique instrumentation of flute, clarinet, electric guitar, double bass, and piano, the ensemble brings a fresh sound and a new perspective to the classical tradition, infused with the musical influences that reflect the diverse backgrounds of its members.

Community Collaborations:

San Diego Symphony Chamber Music Series 
Tuesday, January 10, 2017 
Copley Symphony Hall at the Jacobs Music Center

As part of the San Diego Symphony's "American Variations" festival this January, this special collaborative concert showcases colorful music that was made in America, featuring the world premiere of a work for solo harp written by Hannah Lash, along with works by Eve Beglarian, Steve Reich and the original 1944 version of Copland's "Appalachian Spring" for 13 players, conducted by Steven Schick.

Minor Fall/Major Lift-a collaboration with
Malashock Dance at the Lyceum Theater
June 1-3, 2017

Featuring the world premiere of a new work by Judd Greenstein written for NOW Ensemble (Art of Élan's new "ensemble-in-residence"), who round out the program with exciting works by Mark Dancigers and other New York composers, all accompanied by new choreography by John Malashock.

No comments: