Tuesday, June 19, 2012

"The DanceWright Project Presents 'Beauty'" with "score by Renee' Baker" September 2012

The DanceWright Project Presents
Beauty, Based on the Sleeping Beauty Trilogy by Anne Rice
and Other Works
"San Francisco, September 2012 -  The DanceWright Project launches its 4th Season with its most ambitious work to date -- Beauty, based on the Sleeping Beauty Trilogy by Anne Rice. This will be the first time these challenging and transgressive books have been performed as a dance work and will be accompanied by a score by Renee'                      Baker, the Chicago-based Founder and Director of the Chicago Modern Orchestra Project." 

"Renee'                          Baker, composer, violinist/violist, conductor is founder/leader of thirteen contemporary music performance entities - Chicago Modern Orchestra Project, FAQtet, Mantra Blue Free Orchestra, Red Chai, Project 6, Wrinkled Linen, Connoisseur Musica String ensemble (classical) , Poemusici (spoken word), Mimetic Cast (new music performance ensemble and publisher), Blanche' (experimental orchestra), Baker Artet, TUNTUI (experimental piano quartet) and the Renee' Baker Trio. She has created eclectic chamber festivals for Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium, Joffrey Ballet Chamber Series, Norris Cultural Arts Center and Classical Symphony Hall.

"As a composer, Ms. Baker has penned creative compositions for her own groups, as well as the Chicago Sinfonietta Chamber Ensemble and the Great Black Music Ensemble/AACM. In 2009 Ms. Baker's compositions were premiered in Umbria Italy and Suoni Per Il Popolo (Montreal). Ms Baker has presented over 20 concerts including her compositions for the Chicago State University Student Afternoon recital series, from 2002-2007. She has premiered over 10 works on the Chicago Sinfonietta Chamber Series 2008-2010. Her first full symphony piece, commissioned by Chicago Sinfonietta, Sundown's Promise for Taiko and Orchestra was given it's world premiere(2 performances) in October 2010, and was met with critical acclaim. Her second symphony piece, commissioned by Chicago Sinfonietta, Divertimento Notte blu was given its world premiere (2 performances) in May 2011 and was widely met with great reviews. Ms. Baker was accepted into the cutting-edge Jazz Composers Orchestra Institute (2010) at Columbia University. In 2010, she completed a score for a 1960s film by Jack Behrends sponsored by the Chicago Architecture Foundation. She composed the score for the Museum of Contemporary Art Program (Chicago) entitled Brass Epiphany, part of the 45th Anniversary celebration of the AACM for November 2010."

Comment by email:
Dear Renee':  This is a wonderful honor and opportunity.  Congratulations...well deserved.   Harvey Felder

No comments: