Wednesday, November 23, 2011

'Three Silhouettes for Piano, Op. 38' of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Uploaded to International Music Score Project

[Samuel Coleridge-Taylor at 23]

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912) was an Afro-British composer and conductor featured at The Centennial of his death will be in 2012. Major observances are being planned by organizations including the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Foundation,

The International Music Score Project (IMSLP), Petrucci Library, describes its mission as “Sharing the World's Public Domain Music.” On Sept. 23, 2011, AfriClassical posted: “Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's 'Life and Death' and 'A King There Lived in Thule' Uploaded to IMSLP.” We have since learned of another recent upload by Adam Ramet on November 16, 2011:

General Information
Work Title: 3 Silhouettes for piano, Op. 38
Composer: Coleridge-Taylor, Samuel
Opus/Catalogue Number: Op. 38

Movements/Sections: 3 pieces
1. Tambourine
2. Lament
3. Valse

First Publication: 1904
Piece Style: Romantic
Instrumentation: Piano

The IMSLP maintains a Category Page on Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, including 45 pages beginning with these:
African Suite, Op. 35
Five and Twenty Sailormen
The Atonement

No comments: