Sunday, December 26, 2010

Nathaniel Dett Chorale Releases 3rd CD, 'Nguzo Saba,' With 'Nguzo Saba Suite, Op. 41' by Glen Edward Burleigh

[Nguzo Saba; The Nathaniel Dett Chorale (2010)]

Nguzo Saba, the higly anticipated third recording from The Nathaniel Dett Chorale is a beautiful blend of classical, gospel and jazz. Joined by guest artists Joe Sealy, Paul Novotny, Joy Brown and Larnell Lewis, the Chorale performs an exquisite collection of repertoire from the African diaspora.

Track Listings

Nguzo Saba Suite, Op. 41 ~ Glen Edward Burleigh

1. Umoja
2. Kujichagulia
3. Ujima
4. Ujamaa
5. Nia
6. Kuumba
7. Imani – Finale
8. St. Martin de Porres ~ Mary Lou Williams
9. Elijah ~ Mary Lou Williams
10. River of Dreams ~ Joe Sealy
[The Nathaniel Dett Chorale is named for R. Nathaniel Dett (1882-1943), whose complete works have been compiled in a Works List by Prof. Dominique-René de Lerma which is featured at]

No comments: