Thursday, November 12, 2020 Jessie Montgomery’s "Starburst;" William Grant Still’s "Out of the Silence" and Duke Ellington’s "New World A-Comin" Streaming Nov. 26-Dec. 26

Jessie Montgomery

William Grant Still (1895-1978)
Maud Cuney-Hare Public Domain

Duke Ellington (1899-1974)

Music in Changing Times: American Promise
Jessie Montgomery, Still, Ellington and Osvaldo Golijov

Boston Symphony Orchestra


Watch the video here

Available November 26 - December 26

Thomas Wilkins, BSO Germeshausen Youth and Family Concerts Conductor and Artistic Advisor for Education and Community Engagement, leads the BSO in Jessie Montgomery’s Starburst; William Grant Still’s Out of the Silence and Duke Ellington’s New World A-Comin’, both featuring piano soloist Aaron Diehl; Ellington’s Come Sunday with Charlotte Blake Alston as narrator, and the fourth movement from Still’s Symphony No. 4. The Boston Symphony Chamber Players perform Osvaldo Golijov’s Lullaby and Doina.

No comments: