Sunday, May 21, 2017

Multicultural Correspondents Dinner in Washington DC Includes Juan Williams of Fox News, Television Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Juan Williams - Fox News - Television Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Honorees Announced for 2017 Multicultural Media Correspondents Dinner

Red Carpet 5:45 – 6:45

Full Line – Up for Multicultural Media Correspondence Dinner Is Set As Hollywood and Politicos Gather to Salute Excellence in Media Diversity!

Washington, DC (May 19, 2017) – The full slate of honorees for the second annual Multicultural Media Correspondents Dinner MMCD™ has officially been announced ahead of the event scheduled for May 25, 2017 at the National Press Club in Washington DC.  Last years’ honorees included actor Jamie Foxx, Richard Lui from MSNBC, Victor Shiblie Publisher The Washington Diplomat, Cenk Uygur from The Young Turks, Armstrong Williams Owner Howard Stirk Holdings, and a host of trailblazing multicultural media correspondents. The guests were a mix of conservatives and liberals, millennial’s to baby-boomers, celebrating multicultural media luminaries and enjoying a hilarious political roast.

Official start time for the VIP red carpet entrance is 5:45pm. The dinner and awards show will begin promptly at 7pm. The MMCD ™ events team is proud to announce that C-Span will broadcast live coverage of the awards ceremony and political roast (check local listings for air time).

“There is a lot of tension in the air in Washington, DC right now” said Aaron T. Manaigo, Co-Chair of the event. “If only for one night, our unique showcase to honor multicultural excellence in media presents an opportunity for folks of all stripes to come together, laugh a little and just let some of the steam out of the pipes”

This year’s MMCDTM red carpet hosts include-- Fox News contributor Mercedes Schlapp and Roland Martin of TV One. Actor/writer/comedian Mr. Chris Spencer will once again serve as the evenings Master of Ceremony.  The official after party for MMCD ™ will be hosted by members of the Washington, DC diplomatic community. Celebrity attendees include Grammy nominated artist/producer Ryan Leslie and legendary dance-music artist Crystal Waters. We invite you to take the Vote it Loud Multicultural Media Poll to help us gather insights into consumer confidence and diversity in media at:

The MMCD 2017 honorees include:

Robert Rodriguez, El Rey Networks - Broadcast Media Owner of the Year

Suzanne Gamboa, NBC Latino - Fifth Estate, New Media Broadcast Executive

Traci G. Lee, NBC Asian America - Fifth Estate, New Media Broadcast Executive

Cherylyn Harley LeBon, The Conservative Blog - Fifth Estate, New Media Print Executive

Joe Madison, Sirius XM - Radio Journalist of the Year

Helen Zia, Women’s Media Center - Print Journalist of the Year

Juan Williams, Fox News - Television Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Dr. Ben Chavis, National Newspaper Publishers Association - Media Advocacy Organization of the Year

The Honorable Tony Cardenas - 2017 Congressional Advocate

The Honorable Greg Walden - 2017 Congressional Advocate

Monique Nelson, Uniworld Group - Media Advertising Executive of the Year

Lamia Rezgui, Voice of America - International Journalist of the Year

The Multicultural Media Correspondents Dinner MMCDTM was created in 2016 to honor and salute luminaries and highlight the need for greater diversity in telecommunications and media (2016 Event Video Reel - Visit for more information, and follow the event across social platforms by tracking #VILMMCD and @VoteItLoud.


No comments: