Friday, February 11, 2011

Odair Assad in 'Sonata del caminante' of Leo Brouwer at Metropolitan Museum of Art Feb. 13, 3 PM

[Leo Brouwer]
Published February 10, 2011
“Classical Music
★ Odair Assad (Sunday) Best known as half of a fraternal duo guitar team, Mr. Assad steps out for a solo recital. He performs works by Barrios, Villa-Lobos, Piazzolla, Kevin Callahan, Egberto Gismonti, Leo Brouwer, and his brother and duo partner, Sergio Assad. At 3 p.m., Grace Rainey Rogers Auditorium, Metropolitan Museum of Art, (212) 570-3949,; $40. (Allan Kozinn).”
Feb. 13, 3 PM
Barrios - Chôro da Saudade
Villa Lobos - Estudo No. 10 & Estudo No. 12
Piazzolla (arr Sergio Assad) - Invierno porteño
Callahan - Red Fantasy
S. Assad - Seis brevidades
Gismonti - Memoria e fado
Brouwer - Sonata del caminante”

On May 10, 2010 AfriClassical posted: “Odair Assad Records 'Sonata del caminante,' Written For Him By Leo Brouwer, on GHA Records.” quoted the composer's commentary on the work:

“Sonata del caminante was composed in a few days, at once for Odair Assad. Composition is a birth with its pain, its effort and its joy but, in this case, everything was organic. Thinking and doing were one and the same. An impossible challenge for any guitar virtuoso is something common for Odair. This contributed to the fluidity of the sound in the Sonata. The Sertão and the great forest intersect in waterfalls of sounds distant and static, calmed like the plain. Thematically you won’t find in the Sonata del caminante sweet melodies nor gracious batucadas; if I intended something, it was 'intensity.' I hope to have succeeded.” [The Afro-Cuban composer, guitarist and conductor Leo Brouwer (b. 1939) is profiled at]

No comments: