Thursday, September 16, 2010

Garrick Ohlssohn & Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra Premiere 'Fanfare Lyrique,' Dedicated to Maestro Raymond Harvey, Sept. 25

[TOP: Garrick Ohlssohn, Piano BOTTOM: Raymond Harvey, Music Director and Conductor, Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra]

Raymond Harvey is Music Director and Conductor of the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra. He received B.A. and M.A. degrees from Oberlin Conservatory of Music, and graduated from the Yale School of Music with a Doctor of Musical Arts degree. The program for the Season's Opening Night begins with the world premiere of Fanfare Lyrique by C. Curtis-Smith. The work was commissioned for the 90th Anniversary Season of the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra, and is dedicated to Maestro Harvey:

Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra
Saturday, September 25, 2010 at 8pm, Miller Auditorium
Prelude talk by Maestro Harvey at 7pm.

“Welcome back for the KSO's 90th Season! Our Opening Night performance features the work of Garrick Ohlssohn. Since his triumph as winner of the 1970 Chopin International Piano Competition, the pianist has established himself worldwide as a musician of magisterial interpretive and technical prowess."

CURTIS-SMITH Fanfare Lyrique (world premiere)
ELGAR Enigma Variations
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 2

Raymond Harvey, KSO Music Director & Conductor
Garrick Ohlssohn, Piano
Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra

“Fanfare Lyrique was commissioned by the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra for their 90th Anniversary season, and is dedicated to Raymond Harvey. The title suggests that the piece, while often brilliant and genuinely fanfare-like (especially at the beginning and end), is at other times soft and lyrical. Fanfare Lyrique is, in terms of form, a set of variations (appropriate for tonight's program!). A seven-measure theme is followed by twelve short variations, and concludes with a longer coda.” (Composer-pianist and Western Michigan University faculty member C. Curtis-Smith has had an association with the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra going back nearly thirty years.)

No comments: