Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Performs Excerpts of Marsalis’s 'Blues Symphony' Nov. 19-22

[Wynton Marsalis]

Boosey & Hawkes Press Release
November 10, 2009

Complete Work to Be Performed at Annual King Celebration at Morehouse College on January 14, 2010
Robert Spano and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra will now premiere selected movements of Wynton Marsalis's new symphonic work, Blues Symphony, November 19-22 in Atlanta Symphony Hall. This programming change was made in order to give the Orchestra an adequate amount of time to fully realize the composer’s expanded vision for the piece.”

Each of Blues Symphony’s seven movements takes a blues form, exploring everything from traditional fife and drum to African-American spirituals to the urban soundscape of New York City. Marsalis gives an audio tour through several movements of the piece from his piano, in a series of videos posted on his Facebook page."

No comments: