Saturday, October 17, 2009

Michael Abels Applauds 'Delights and Dances' by Harlem Quartet & Sphinx Chamber Orchestra

The African American composer Michael Abels has released a statement which has been forwarded to us by John Malveaux, concerning a performance of his music in Cerritos, California:
Hello friends! This Saturday Oct 24th at 8pm, the Harlem Quartet and the Sphinx Chamber Orchestra will give the Southern California premiere of my piece 'Delights & Dances' at Cerritos Center for the Performing Arts:

"The Harlem Quartet and the SCO have been on tour with this piece for the last month. Last week I attended their performance of it at Carnegie Hall. What a blessing to have my music performed by such amazing musicians. I hope to see you at this performance! Best wishes, -Michael Abels"
MOZART - Divertimento in F Major, K. 138
PIAZZOLLA - Autumn in Buenos Aires (Otono Porteno) With Elena Urioste, solo violin
GAVILÁN - Mi Menor Conga (Sphinx Chamber Orchestra version)
TCHAIKOVSKY - Serenade for Strings I. Pezzo in Forma di Sonatina
MARSALIS - Hellbound Highball from At the Octoroon Balls
BACH - Concerto for 2 Violins and String Orchestra
ABELS - Delights and Dances for String Quartet and Orchestra
[The Founder/President of The Sphinx Organization is violinist Aaron P. Dworkin (b. 1970), who is profiled at]

Hi Bill, I know you've mentioned Sphinx events a lot before... but thanks! -Michael Abels

No comments: