Saturday, January 17, 2009

Fishers Chamber Orchestra Plays Works of Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson January 31, 2009

[Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson Conducting the New Black Music Repertory Ensemble;
Photo courtesy of the Center for Black Music Research, Columbia College, Chicago]

Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson, who is profiled at, will be included in
the following program of Fishers Chamber Orchestra,
Conner Prairie Recital:
3:00 p.m. Saturday, January 31, 2009, Fishers, Indiana
Sonata for Violin and Harpsichord; J. S. Bach (1685-1750)
Caprice No. 1; Mark O'Connor (b. 1961)
Louisiana Blues Strut (a Cakewalk) (2002); Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson (1934-2004)
Duo for Violin and Viola in G Major; W. A. Mozart (1756-1791)
The Stream Flows (in two movements); Bright Sheng (b. 1955)
Caprice No. 2; Mark O'Connor
Blue/s Forms (1979); Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson
La Folia Variations; Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)

Davis Brooks, Violin; Associate Professor, Butler University, Indianapolis
Lisa Evans Brooks, Violin; Associate Professor, School of Music, Butler University
Kurt Fowler, Cello; Associate Professor, Indiana State University
John Glennon, Harpsichord; Completing Doctorate in Music at Indiana University
Sheldon Person, Viola; Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra

No comments: