Sunday, September 5, 2021 Adrian Symphony Orchestra opens Oct. 10 with pianist Terrence Wilson in "the Concerto in 1 Movement by Florence Price (1887-1953)"

Terrence Wilson
(J. Henry Fair photo)

Adrian, Michigan

Arlene Bachanov
Special to The Daily Telegram

Sep 5, 2021

ADRIAN — For its return to live performances after more than a year off due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Adrian Symphony Orchestra has programmed a season that blends some tried and true showstoppers with the diversity to be found in classical music today.

And ASO Music Director Bruce Anthony Kiesling, couldn’t be more pleased to be bringing these newer composers and performers to the orchestra’s repertoire. 

“As a field, orchestras have done a really poor job of representing these other voices, and this is a way to help rectify that,” he said. 

That diversity begins with the season’s first concert Oct. 10, by featuring the Concerto in 1 Movement by Florence Price (1887-1953). Price was the first Black woman in the U.S. to be recognized as a symphonic composer and the first to have a work performed by a major orchestra. 

No comments: