Sunday, March 1, 2009

Ritz Chamber Players Play Perkinson's String Quartet No.1 “Based on Calvary!” April 8

[Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson (1932-2004): A Celebration; Chicago Sinfonietta et al.; Paul Freeman, Conductor; Cedille 90000 087 (2005)] 

AfriClassical has received this news from Terrance Patterson of the Ritz Chamber Players: “Greetings Bill – As always, I thank you so very much for always including the Ritz Chamber Players programs on your fantastic AfricClassical Blogspot. I wanted to let you know of our upcoming concert that will feature the Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson String Quartet No.1 'Based on Calvary!' who was the first Composer-In-Residence for the Ritz Chamber Players."

Here is the complete program:
Ritz Chamber Players Spring Concert
Wednesday, April 8, 2009 7:30 p.m.
Jacoby Symphony Hall |Times-Union Center for the Performing Arts, Jacksonville, Florida
Crusell (1775 – 1838) Clarinet Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 7
Perkinson (1932-2004) String Quartet No.1 “Based on Calvary!”
Piazzolla (1921 – 1992) Four for Tango
Mendelssohn (1809 – 1847) String Quintet No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op.87

Ritz Chamber Players: Kelly Hall-Tompkins and Kyle Lombard – Violins; Chauncey Patterson and Amadi Hummings – Violas; Kenneth Law – Cello; and Terrance Patterson – Clarinet. [Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson is profiled at, where a Works List and Bibliography by Dr. Dominique-René de Lerma are found]

No comments: