Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Boulder Philharmonic Performs George Walker's 'Lyric for Strings' April 25, 2009

[Photo Courtesy of George Walker]
April 25, 2009
Macky Auditorium, 7:30 pm
Michael Butterman, conductor
Jon Nakamatsu, piano

Walker: Lyric for Strings 
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9 
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2

"Walker's Lyric for Strings is a poignant elegy of surpassing beauty. Shostakovich's Ninth Symphony delights with it's light-hearted spirit and colorful orchestration. Finally, our souls will surely soar as Van Cliburn Gold-Medalist Jon Nakamatsu joins the BPO for Brahms' epic Piano Concerto No. 2." [George Walker (b. 1922) is profiled at, where a complete Works List by Dr. Dominique-René de Lerma can be found.]

No comments: