Tuesday, May 3, 2022

The Cleveland Orchestra: Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Concert Saturday, June 4, 7 PM; Free tickets available May 14 at 10 AM


Ticket Information

This concert is free, though tickets are required. Due to the high demand, tickets to this concert go quickly. Typically, all tickets for this performance are distributed by noon on the day they are made available to the public. There will a limit of four tickets per household.

About the Concert

This uplifting concert will showcase the music of prominent Black composers — such as Dolores White, Mary D. Watkins, Carlos Simon, Brian Raphael Nabors, William Grant Still, and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor — as well as music in the African American spiritual tradition. The program concludes with James Weldon Johnson and J. Rosamond Johnson’s beloved hymn “Lift Every Voice and Sing.”

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 2022 Community Service Awards will be presented as part of this concert.

  • DOLORES WHITE  Celebration
  • MARY D. WATKINS  Soul of Remembrance
  • TRADITIONAL  Ev’ry Time I Feel the Spirit
  • TRADITIONAL  Deep River
  • CARLOS SIMON  Fate Now Conquers
  • TRADITIONAL  Cert’n’y Lord
  • TRADITIONAL  Lord I Want to Be a Christian
  • TRADITIONAL  Seek the Lord
  • WILLIAM GRANT STILL  Summerland from Three Visions
  • TRADITIONAL  He’s Got the Whole World
  • TRADITIONAL  A City Called Heaven
  • JOHN ROSAMOND JOHNSON  Lift Every Voice and Sing


Performing Artists


Broadcast Details

The performance will be livestreamed free on the Orchestra’s Adella app, Adella.Live, and youtube.com/clevelandorchestra and broadcast live on 90.3 WCLV Classical 104.9, 89.7 WKSU, on ideastream.org, and on the Ideastream Public Media app.


No comments: