Tuesday, September 15, 2015

BroadwayWorld.com: Composer Tania León Joins Panel for PUBLIQ Access Concert, 9/26

The website of the Afro-Cuban composer and conductor Tania Justina León (b. 1943) is http://www.tanialeon.com/; she is also profiled at AfriClassical.com.

Broadway World

September 11, 2015

ChamberMusicNY, a non-profit presenting organization, is pleased to announce that composer Tania León has joined the post-concert panel discussion as a moderator for our opening night concert Saturday September 26. The concert is co-presented by the award-winning ensemble PUBLIQuartet, and is the annual showcase of the composition competition PUBLIQ Access. Free tickets are available via this link for Will Call at the concert.
Ms. León, (b. Havana, Cuba) is highly regarded as a composer and conductor and recognized for her accomplishments as an educator and advisor to arts organizations. She has been profiled on ABC, CBS, CNN, PBS, Univision, Telemundo, and independent films.
León's opera Scourge of Hyacinths, based on a play by Wole Soyinka with staging and design by Robert Wilson, received over 20 performances throughout Europe and Mexico. Commissioned by Hans Werner Henze and the city of Munich for the Fourth Munich Biennale, it took home the coveted BMW Prize. The aria "Oh Yemanja" ("Mother's Prayer") was recorded by Dawn Upshaw on her Nonesuch CD, "The World So Wide."
Commissions include works for Ursula Oppens and the Cassatt Quartet, Nestor Torres, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, New World Symphony, Koussevitzky Foundation, Fest der Kontinente (Hamburg, Germany), Cincinnati Symphony, National Endowment for the Arts, NDR Sinfonie Orchester, American Composers Orchestra, The Library of Congress, Ensemble Modern, The Los Angeles Master Chorale, and The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, among others.

Her works have been performed by such orchestras as the Gewaundhausorchester, L'Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, the China National Symphony, and the NDR Orchestra. She has collaborated with authors and directors including John Ashbury, Margaret Atwood, Rita Dove, Jamaica Kincaid, Mark Lamos, Julie Taymor, and Derek Walcott.

No comments: