Friday, February 13, 2015

Gateways Music Festival: Anthony McGill, Clarinetist, will be Guest Soloist at Eastman Theatre August 16, 2015; Florence B. Price Symphony No. 1 included

Anthony McGill
(Photo: Katie Smith)

Lee Koonce:

The Artistic Programs Committee of the Gateways Music Festival is pleased to announce that Anthony McGill, appointed principal clarinet of the New York Philharmonic in September 2014, will be the guest soloist at this year’s Festival Orchestra concert on Sunday, August 16, 2015 at the Eastman Theatre.  Conductor Michael Morgan and Anthony are in conversation about repertoire and we will announce that shortly.  (Here’s a link to Anthony’s website:

In addition to the concerto Anthony will perform, the Festival Orchestra concert will include the following additional repertoire:

·    Symphony No. 1 in E Minor (1932) / Florence Beatrice Price (1887-1953)

    The Chicago Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Frederick Stock, premiered
Price’s Symphony No. 1 in E Minor on June 15, 1933, making this composition the first by an African-American woman to be played by a major orchestra in the United States.

·    (1919-1920) / Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Other updates:

1.       Applications are due next Friday, February 20, 2015.  If you’re having any problems submitting the application (as a few Mac users have), please send me an email ( and I can send you a fillable form that you can download and send back to me.

2.       The repertoire for the Hochstein chamber orchestra concert will be announced within the next few weeks.  The committee is working on a piece that will highlight the strings and another that will highlight the winds and brass.

3.       A very special thank you to the members of the Artistic Programs Committee for their efforts in planning this year’s Festival.  Thank you!!!

Artistic Programs Committee
Amadi Azikiwe
David Berry
Robert Blaine
Paul Burgett
David Burnett
Isrea Butler
Rick Fleming
Leonard Foy
Bernard Holcomb
Rochelle Joyner
Kelly Hall Tompkins
Kenneth Law
Michael Morgan
Mari Yan Pringle
Herbert Smith
Robert H. Smith
Teryl Watson
Terrence Wilson

Lee Koonce
Chair, Artistic Programs Committee
Gateways Music Festival

No comments: