Saturday, March 22, 2014

American Academy of Arts And Letters Announces Composer Alvin Singleton As A Newly Elected Member For 2014

Alvin Singleton

Composer Alvin Singleton sends this release:

New York, NY, March 20, 2014 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters will hold its annual induction and award ceremony in mid-May. Secretary of the Academy, Billie Tsien will induct nine new members into the 250-person organization: Robert Adams, Ann Hamilton, Bill Jensen, Wendell Berry, Ha Jin, Denis Johnson, Tobias Wolff, David Lang, and Alvin Singleton. President Henry N. Cobb will induct honorary members Alice Waters, Thomas Adès, John Banville, Toyo Ito, Leon Kossoff, Magnus Lindberg, Haruki Murakami, and Colm Tóibín. Elaine Scarry will deliver the Blashfield Foundation Address, titled "Beauty and the Pact of Aliveness." An exhibition of art, architecture, books, and manuscripts by new members and recipients of awards will be on view in the Academy’s galleries from May 22 to June 15.

No comments: